Bind or Unbind - What does this mean for your Segway Ninebot Electric Scooter

Bind or Unbind - What does this mean for your Segway Ninebot Electric Scooter

When purchasing a Segway Ninebot electric scooter, whether it be brand new, refurbished or used, you have the option to ‘bind’ the scooter through the Segway E-Scooter App. 

Ninebot scooters, when brand new, require activation, basically it needs to be registered through the Segway E-Scooter App first before usage. Of course, this isn’t necessary to use the scooter, but it provides access to some enhancement opportunities that may require being bound to the app. 

Regardless of whether you are bound to the scooter as the original owner or not, as long as the scooter is connected to the app via bluetooth, you will be able to check mileage/battery estimated percentage and will have full access to all great functions that are available on the app etc. 

When connected to the app, you are exposed to a range of great features such as switching riding modes, changing ambient lights (for applicable models like the G30LP, locking and unlocking the unit, viewing the mileage, tracking activities and checking the battery levels, the Segway-Ninebot app is invaluable for any Segway-Ninebot owner.

Binding a Segway Ninebot electric scooter to the app simply gives you the ability to name it whatever you’d like AND access the enhancement opportunities, which typically requires a level of technical knowledge to be able to achieve safely and successfully

A good thing to mention is that you may choose to unbind at any time, so if you own multiple e-scooters or want to sell your Segway Ninebot E-Scooter you can do so without hassle. 

Should I unbind or stay bound? 

It’s entirely up to you! If you don’t plan on naming the scooter then you can stay unbound, this will in no way impact the performance of your electric scooter. 

If you do want to access the advanced features of the Segway electric scooter and name it something you'd prefer, then you should stay bound or try to bind otherwise you won't have access to all its features (such as naming the Segway Ninebot electric scooter).

Either way, if you bind or don’t bind your Segway Ninebot electric scooter to the Segway Ninebot App you can still use all of the features on the app by connecting through Bluetooth. 

When to unbind my Electric Scooter? 

If you’re planning on selling the electric scooter or giving it away as a gift then you should unbind the scooter so that the next user can connect their phone and get full access to the advanced features mentioned above.

When you’re thinking about selling we suggest that you wait until you’re ready to make the sale or give the gift, to unbind the scooter, that way it's still registered to your phone until the transaction is finalized. 

These are the steps to unbind your Electric Scooter from the Segway E-Scooter App: 

 

This step applies to all Segway Ninebot electric scooters that are bluetooth compatible.

  1. Select the menu button.
  2. Select unbind option.
  3. Select the verify option.
  4. Enter the code that was sent to your email or phone.
  5. Select the confirm to unbind button.

What if your E-Scooter is bound to someone else upon purchase? 

Not to worry, it doesn't affect the functionality of the scooter or prevent it from operating as it should. You can connect via Bluetooth but may not be able to access some advanced features such as naming the scooter for example. Most segway ninebot electric scooters are sold bound to the previous owner, you just have to make sure you buy from an authorised reseller or from a reputable seller.

In any case, you can take advantage of our unbinding service and we will assist in unbinding through Segway. The majority of Certified Pre Owned electric scooters are found to be bound, but we try our best to ensure it is not beforehand. 

If your scooter is currently bound to its previous owner and you are looking to get it unbound, you can do so here.

 

To get the Segway App for your scooter check out the links below: 

Apple App Store

Google Play

Back to blog

1 comment

Hello, good morning. I bought a used scooter but it is linked to its previous owner. I would like to be able to link it to my phone, but I don’t know how to unlink it from the previous owner.

Isaías

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.